Ace Camping by the Pacific Coast Hwy: Kirk Creek Campground

View from Inside my Tent

View from the Tent

“Far-kle” said B* after another bust in the dice game called Farkle that my new campground friends and I were playing under a starry sky while listening to the waves crash against the bluff at Kirk Creek Campground. This camp site was my home for 1 night on my roadtrip along the Pacific Coast Highway and I couldn’t have found a better spot to make camp. My 1 night included a spectacular sunset, clear starry skies, camp friends who provided me with beer, and a game of Farkle, which I won.

Campsite at the Edge of the Ocean

Site #17

The joy of this camping spot even bled over to the next morning when my camp friends provided me with fresh hot coffee from their giant french press. I cannot imagine a better camping experience on the PCH and it wouldn’t have happened if not for a conversation over cocktails in the adventure planning stages of my roadtrip.

Before I left on my camping roadtrip extravaganza, a Cali friend told me about an amazing campground south of Big Sur called Kirk Creek Campground. What made this campground so amazing she said was that it is one of the only campgrounds on the west side of the road, which places it on a bluff directly above the Pacific Ocean. It sounded amazing and perfect for a solo roadtrip campsite, so I had to check it out. I quickly went to the booking site and even pretty far in advance I snagged the very last space in this tiny 32 site campground (book here). The campground lived up to all expectations and even exceeded them. I had site #17, which was directly at the edge of the bluff!

Camping at Kirk Creek Campground

Sunset at Site #17

Morning at Kirk Creek Campground

View from Site #17

Campsite

Kirk Creek Campground

Campground Stats:

  • Located in the Los Padres National Forest
  • 32 sites
  • No water or electric
  • No giant RVs
  • No cell phone reception
  • Vault toilets
  • Spectacular ocean views

Awesome Sunset at the Camp Site
Sunset over Central Cali Coast

Sunset Take 1

Sunset Finale

Feeling refreshed after a night in this magical campground and ready to keep driving north to Big Sur!
IMG_2618

My Trusty Steed on the Pacific Coast Highway

One response to “Ace Camping by the Pacific Coast Hwy: Kirk Creek Campground

  1. Pingback: Things I Went to the TOP of in 2014 | Ramblin' Rangecommander·

Leave a comment